The Old Customs House
Built in 1844, designed by John Medlan Clark, this brick built Custom House replaced the original wooden construction. Facing onto the wet dock, the building has an impressive frontage with twin stairs and balustrades, portico, Tuscan columns and deep pediments. Built from red and white brick and stone. An interesting feature of the facade is the working of the brick to imitate stone.
The ground floor has recently been renovated for use as a conference centre. Whilst the Waterfront area has recently undergone a massive revamp with a hotel, restaurants, marina and new homes, the Old Custom House remains unchanged and still stands as a reminder of the historic significance of the River Orwell to Ipswich history.
Interested in filming at The Old Customs House?
Contact us by phone 014733 365522 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.